## **TPO RESOLUTION #41-17**

## RESOLUTION ESTABLISHING THE FINANCIAL PLAN FRAMEWORK FOR THE STRATEGIC MIAMI AREA RAPID TRANSIT (SMART) PLAN

WHEREAS, the Transportation Planning Organization (TPO), on February 18, 2016, adopted Resolution #06-16, which established transit as the "highest priority" for Miami-Dade County; and

WHEREAS, under Resolution #26-16, the TPO Governing Board endorsed the Strategic Miami Area Rapid Transit (SMART) Plan, which includes six (6) rapid transit corridors; and

WHEREAS, the development of the six rapid transit corridors will likely need the infusion of various funding sources, including federal, state, County, and municipal participation; and

WHEREAS, funds allocated to the SMART Plan from the Charter County Transportation Surtax should have a dedicated budgetary line(s) and a "category" within the Transit program that ensures these funds are protected and can carry forward until used for SMART Plan projects; and

WHEREAS, the Charter County Transportation Surtax and other local funding sources can be leveraged for capital projects using the most cost effective sources including government loan programs, such as the Transportation Infrastructure Finance and Innovation Act (TIFIA), Railroad Rehabilitation and Improvement Financing, and the Florida State Infrastructure Bank; and

**WHEREAS**, the above referenced programs can provide infrastructure loans subordinate to the Charter County Transportation Surtax senior bonds and other funding sources that may be bonded at cost effective rates,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE GOVERNING BOARD OF THE TRANSPORTATION PLANNING ORGANIZATION IN ITS ROLE AS THE MPO FOR THE MIAMI URBANIZED AREA, that this Board establishes the Strategic Miami Area Rapid Transit (SMART) Financial Plan Framework as follows:

- 1) Pursue financing through the Transportation Infrastructure Finance and Innovation Act (TIFIA); and
- 2) Pursue 50/50 funding partnership with the Florida Department of Transportation for capital costs of SMART Plan projects that are federal-aid eligible and locally funded; and
- 3) Pursue federal funding partnerships via Federal Transit Administration Capital Grant programs commonly known as New Starts and/or Small Starts for eligible SMART Plan projects, with a local funding partnership with the Florida Department of Transportation for 50 percent share of the Non-Federal funding for projects that achieve Federal Transit Capital Grants; and
- 4) Local funds will be committed for the annual operating costs for SMART Plan projects for a minimum 30-year period; and
- 5) Local funds will be committed for the State of Good Repair for SMART Plan projects for a minimum 30-year period; and
- 6) Pursue remaining funding amounts necessary to fully fund the advancement of SMART Plan projects in a timely manner via other local funding sources, including, but not limited to:
  - a. Tax Increment Financing District
  - b. Local Option Gas Tax
  - c. Developer Contributions
  - d. State Match
  - e. Federal Match
  - f. Special Taxing District
  - g. Municipal Contribution
  - h. Miami-Dade County General Fund Allocation
- 7) Directs the TPO Executive Director or designee, to coordinate with appropriate individuals and/or agencies to effectuate this financial framework.

The foregoing resolution was sponsored by Board Member Dennis C. Moss and moved by Board Member Dennis C. Moss. The motion was seconded by Vice Chairman Francis Suarez, and upon being put to a vote, the vote was as follows:

## Chairman Esteban L. Bovo, Jr. -Aye Vice Chairman Francis Suarez-Aye

Board Member Bruno A. Barreiro	-Aye	Board Member Philip Levine	-Absent
Board Member Jose "Pepe" Diaz	-Absent	Board Member Daniella Levine Cava	-Aye
Board Member Audrey M. Edmonson	-Aye	Board Member Roberto Martell	-Absent
Board Member Oliver G. Gilbert, III	-Aye	Board Member Joe A. Martinez	-Absent
Board Member Perla Tabares Hantman	-Aye	Board Member Jean Monestime	-Absent
Board Member Carlos Hernandez	-Absent	Board Member Dennis C. Moss	-Aye
Board Member Sally A. Heyman	-Absent	Board Member Jeff Porter	-Aye
Board Member Barbara J. Jordan	-Aye	Board Member Rebeca Sosa	-Aye
Board Member Smith Joseph	-Absent	Board Member Javier D. Souto	-Nay
Board Member Vince Lago	-Absent	Board Member Xavier L. Suarez	-Aye

The Chairperson thereupon declared the resolution duly passed and approved this 26<sup>th</sup> day of September, 2017.

TRANSPORTATION PLANNING ORGANIZATION

By Zainab Salim, Clerk Miami-Dade TPO