## **TPO RESOLUTION #21-17**

RESOLUTION APPROVING THE FISCAL YEARS 2018-2022 TRANSPORTATION IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM AND URGING THE MIAMI-DADE EXPRESSWAY AUTHORITY TO PRESENT AT THE NEXT TRANSPORTATION PLANNING ORGANIZATION (TPO) GOVERNING BOARD MEETING ITS FORMAL COMMITMENT TO ASSUME THE PROJECT MANAGEMENT, WHICH SHALL INCLUDE FULL FUNDING FOR THE DESIGN, CONSTRUCTION, OPERATION, AND MAINTENANCE, OF ONE OF THE SIX (6) STRATEGIC MIAMI AREA RAPID TRANSIT (SMART) PLAN CORRIDORS

WHEREAS, the Interlocal Agreement creating and establishing the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Miami Urbanized Area requires that the MPO provide a structure to evaluate the adequacy of the transportation planning and programming process; and

WHEREAS, the FYs 2018-2022 Transportation Improvement Program details the programming of all intermodal, highway, transit, seaport, aviation, commuter rail and non-motorized transportation projects to be implemented during the 2018-2022 fiscal period in Miami-Dade County; and

WHEREAS, the Transportation Planning Council (TPC) has been established and charged with the responsibility and duty of fulfilling the aforementioned functions; and

WHEREAS, the TPC has reviewed the FYs 2018-2022 TIP, made a part hereof, and finds it consistent with the goals and objectives of the Transportation Plan for the Miami Urbanized Area,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE GOVERNING BOARD OF THE TRANSPORTATION PLANNING ORGANIZATION IN ITS ROLE AS THE MPO FOR THE MIAMI URBANIZED AREA, this Board hereby approves the attached Fiscal Years 2018-2022 Transportation Improvement Program and urges the Miami-Dade Expressway Authority to present at the next TPO Governing Board meeting its formal commitment to assume the project management, which shall include full funding for the design, construction, operation, and maintenance, of one of the six (6) Strategic Miami Area Rapid Transit (SMART) Plan corridors.

The adoption of the foregoing resolution was moved by Chairman Esteban L. Bovo, Jr. The motion was seconded by Vice Chairman Francis Suarez, and upon being put to a vote, the vote was as follows:

## Chairman Esteban L. Bovo, Jr. - Aye Vice Chairman Francis Suarez - Aye

Board Member Bruno A. Barreiro	- Aye	Board Member Daniella Levine Cava	- Aye
Board Member Jose "Pepe" Diaz	- Aye	Board Member Roberto Martell	- Aye
Board Member Audrey M. Edmonson	- Aye	Board Member Joe A. Martinez	- Aye
Board Member Oliver G. Gilbert, III	- Absent	Board Member Jean Monestime	- Absent
Board Member Perla Tabares Hantman	- Aye	Board Member Dennis C. Moss	- Aye
Board Member Carlos Hernandez	- Absent	Board Member Jeff Porter	- Aye
Board Member Sally A. Heyman	- Aye	Board Member Rebeca Sosa	- Aye
Board Member Barbara J. Jordan	- Aye	Board Member Javier D. Souto	- Absent
Board Member Smith Joseph	- Aye	Board Member Xavier L. Suarez	- Aye
Board Member Philip Levine	- Absent		

The Chairperson thereupon declared the resolution duly passed and approved this 22<sup>nd</sup> day of June, 2017.

TRANSPORTATION PLANNING ORGANIC

Zainab Salim, Clerk Miami-Dade TPO MIAMI-DADE MPO