

Executive Committee

Hon. Patricia B. Asseff, Chair Hon. Tim Daubert, Vice Chair Hon. Frank Caplan, Treasurer Hon. Greg Ross, Secretary Sandra Walters, Immediate Past Chair

Councilmembers

Mario J. Bailey
Hon. M. Margaret Bates
Hon. Mark D. Bogen
Hon. Daniella Levine Cava
Hon. Beam Furr
Cary Goldberg
Nelson Hernandez
Hon. Martin Kiar
Hon. George Neugent
Hon. David Rice
Hon. Xavier Suarez
Paul Wallace
Hon. Jimmy Weekley

Ex-Officio Members

Laura Corry Hon. Roberto Martell Dat Huynh

Executive Director

Isabel Cosio Carballo

June 17, 2016

Ms. Aileen Bouclé, AICP Executive Director Miami-Dade MPO 111 NW 1st Street, Suite 920 Miami, Florida 33128

Dear Ms. Bouclé,

On behalf of the Council Board and its staff, thank you again for your recent presentation and update on the Miami-Dade County MPO Strategic Miami Area Rapid Transit (SMART) Plan. Your update was informative and timely. The Council members were very engaged as you saw from their many questions. I am pleased to enclose herewith a copy of SFRC Resolution 16-01 in support of the SMART Plan.

The Council looks forward to continuing to work with you and your staff on this and other matters of regional concern. Please do not hesitate to contact me, or the Council's executive director Isabel Cosio Carballo, if we can ever be of assistance to you.

Sincerely yours,

Patricia B. Asseff

ticia asself

Chair

enclosure



RESOLUTION 16-01

RESOLUTION IN SUPPORT OF MIAMI-DADE METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION (MPO) TRANSIT EXPANSION THROUGH THE STRATEGIC MIAMI AREA RAPID TRANSIT (SMART) PLAN

WHEREAS, the South Florida Regional Council is a regional public policy and planning agency representing the geographic area of Miami-Dade, Broward, and Monroe counties;

WHEREAS, the South Florida Regional Council is voluntarily created pursuant to an Interlocal Agreement of Monroe, Miami-Dade, and Broward counties, and Florida Statutes;

WHEREAS, the Council Board consists of county and municipal elected officials, gubernatorial appointees, and ex-officio representatives representing the South Florida Water Management District and the Florida departments of Transportation, Environmental Protection, and Economic Opportunity;

WHEREAS, the Council's mission is to work with, and provide assistance to, its member units of local governments and other regional stakeholders to develop and implement creative strategies that will result in more prosperous and equitable communities, a healthier and cleaner environment, and a more vibrant economy;

WHEREAS, in 2010 the South Florida and Treasure Coast Regional Planning Councils, in collaboration with regional stakeholders, spearheaded the development of the seven-county Southeast Florida Regional Partnership (Partnership) and its successful designation as an inaugural U.S. HUD Sustainable Community;

WHEREAS, completed in 2014, the Partnership's *Seven50*: *Southeast Florida Prosperity Plan*, a 50-year vision and plan, reflects general agreement around priority initiatives and investment in key areas of importance to Southeast Florida's future;

WHEREAS, broadly stated, these initiatives are focused on issues related to Everglades and waterways; balanced mobility / transportation; climate preparedness and resilience; education and workforce; and economic competitiveness and opportunity;

WHEREAS, the Partnership's Seven50: Southeast Florida Prosperity Plan highlights a "Region in Motion" as the preferred development scenario with an emphasis on quality transit and transit-oriented development as critical to the region's future resiliency and greater prosperity;

WHEREAS, in 2002, the electors of Miami-Dade County approved the imposition of a one-half percent surtax with the purpose of improving mass transit within Miami-Dade County;

WHEREAS, in 2014 Miami-Dade County ranked 12th, along with Atlanta and Detroit, as one of the nation's most congested urban areas according to the Texas A&M Transportation Institute's 2015 Urban Mobility Scorecard;

WHEREAS, the People's Transportation Plan includes eight (8) rapid transit corridors located throughout Miami-Dade County;

WHEREAS, under Resolution #06-16, dated February 16, 2016, the MPO Governing Board unanimously approved a policy to set as highest priority for the community the advancement of Rapid Transit Corridors and transit supportive projects in Miami-Dade County;

WHEREAS, under Resolution #26-16, dated April 21, 2016, the MPO Governing Board unanimously endorsed the Strategic Miami Area Rapid Transit (SMART) Plan and directed the MPO Executive Director to work with the MPO Fiscal Priorities Committee (FPC) to determine the costs and potential sources of funding for Project Development and Environmental (PD&E) study for each selected corridor.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE GOVERNING BOARD OF THE SOUTH FLORIDA REGIONAL COUNCIL, that the Council wishes to express its support for Miami-Dade Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) and its leadership to provide rapid transit corridors along the six (6) corridors selected in the Strategic Miami Area Rapid Transit (SMART) Plan. This plan will advance implementation of the Southeast Florida Regional Partnership's Seven50: Southeast Florida Regional Prosperity Plan by reducing congestion and greenhouse gas emissions; enhancing connectivity and economic opportunity for communities and the region's workforce; and enhancing regional mobility.

PASSED AND ADOPTED UNANIMOUSLY BY THE SOUTH FLORIDA REGIONAL COUNCIL, THIS 6TH DAY OF JUNE, 2016.

Board Member Patricia Asseff

Board Member Mario J. Bailey

Board Member Margaret M. Bates

Board Member Mark Bogen

Board Member Frank Caplan

Board Member Daniella Levine Cava

Board Member Tim Daubert

Board Member Beam Furr

Board Member Cary Goldberg

Board Member Nelson Hernandez

Board Member Martin Kiar

Board Member George Neugent

Board Member David Rice

Board Member Greg Ross

Board Member Xavier Suarez

Board Member Paul Wallace

Board Member Sandra Walters

Board Member Jimmy Weekley

Ex Officio:

Board Member Laura Corry, SFWMD

Board Member Dat Huynh, P.E., FDOT

Board Member Jennifer Smith, FDEP

Board Member Roberto Martell, FDEO