MPO RESOLUTION #42-16

RESOLUTION APPROVING TRAVEL EXPENDITURES OF THE MPO CHAIRMAN TO THE FEDERAL TRANSIT ADMINISTRATION, REGION FOUR OFFICES, IN ATLANTA, GEORGIA, TO MEET AND BRIEF OFFICIALS ON THE MPO STRATEGIC MIAMI AREA RAPID TRANSIT (SMART) PLAN, TENTATIVELY SCHEDULED AUGUST 30, 2016

WHEREAS, the Interlocal Agreement creating and establishing the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Miami Urbanized Area requires that the MPO provide a structure to evaluate the adequacy of the transportation planning and programming process; and

WHEREAS, under Resolution #26-16, the MPO Governing Board endorsed the Strategic Miami Area Rapid Transit (SMART) Plan and directed the MPO Executive Director to work with the MPO Fiscal Priorities Committee to determine the costs and potential sources of funding for the PD&E study for each SMART Plan project, and to take all necessary steps to implement the SMART Plan; and

WHEREAS, the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) provides financial and technical assistance to local public transit systems, including buses, subways, light rail, commuter rail, trolleys and ferries; and

WHEREAS, since 1964, FTA has partnered with state and local governments to create and enhance public transportation systems, investing more than \$10 billion annually to support and expand public rail, bus, trolley, ferry and other transit services, which have helped modernize public transportation; and

WHEREAS, meeting officials at the FTA will assist the MPO with efforts to communicate the MPO SMART Plan at the federal level in order to address policy, funding, and the transit needs of South Florida,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE GOVERNING BOARD OF THE METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION FOR THE MIAMI URBANIZED AREA, that the travel expenditures of the MPO Chairman to the Federal Transit Administration, Region Four Office, in Atlanta, Georgia, to meet and brief officials on the MPO Strategic Area Rapid Transit (SMART) Plan tentatively scheduled for August 30, 2016, is hereby approved.

The adoption of the foregoing resolution was sponsored by Chairman Jean Monestime and moved by Board Member Oliver G. Gilbert, III. The motion was seconded by Vice Chairman Francis Suarez, and upon being put to a vote, the vote was as follows:

Chairman Jean Monestime-Aye Vice Chairman Francis Suarez-Aye

Board Member Bruno A. Barreiro	-Aye	Board Member Smith Joseph	-Aye
Board Member Esteban Bovo Jr	-Absent	Board Member Philip Levine	-Aye
Board Member Jose "Pepe" Diaz	-Absent	Board Member Daniella Levine Cava	-Aye
Board Member Audrey M. Edmonson	-Absent	Board Member Roberto Martell	-Aye
Board Member Maurice Ferre	-Aye	Board Member Dennis C. Moss	-Aye
Board Member Oliver G. Gilbert, III	-Aye	Board Member Jeff Porter	-Absent
Board Member Perla Tabares Hantman	-Absent	Board Member Rebeca Sosa	-Absent
Board Member Carlos Hernandez	-Absent	Board Member Javier D. Souto	-Aye
Board Member Sally A. Heyman	-Absent	Board Member Xavier L. Suarez	-Aye
Board Member Barbara J. Jordan	-Absent	Board Member Juan C. Zapata	-Aye

The Chairperson thereupon declared the resolution duly passed and approved this 23rd day of June, 2016.

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZA

Zainab Saiim, Cierk Miami-Dade MPO DADE

MPO